:: Youth & Eternity ::
You know, there's like a butt-load of gangs at this school. This one gang kept wanting me to join because I'm pretty good with a bo staff.
[2005-04-28 @ 4:15 p.m.]

Stats pages are really dangerous. I found somebody had looked up Maroon 5 lyrics, and found my diary entry where I bashed that song. I really do hate that song. But, I listen to Telemann for fun. I'm particularly fond of that French/Polish style of his, very interesting for his time.

Anyway, sorry to whomever just wanted to know the lyrics to that song, and had to read about my dull and boring life.

So, in French today we finished taking our practice exam. I completely failed the speaking portion, I feel it in my veins. On any of the sixty second questions, I couldn't think of an immediate response, or a certain word imparative to my point... and then I'd always have that awkward silence where everyone else in the room is still talking, and I can't think of a thing to say. In AP English we took a practice exam... one portion was "The Decay of Lying" by Oscar Wilde (did you know that he was gay?), and another portion was Emily Dickinson. Pardon me, and not to sound haughty, but I think she was a pretentious hack of a writer who pulled ridiculous claims out of her butt as one big prank on the world (possibly one of the worst wordings of a sentiment ever written by woman, I know, so where I think I have the room to base my argument...). I mean, she wrote every single poem to the tune of "Amazing Grace" because she wanted to make fun of Christianity (though, it came out to be "The Yellow Rows of Texas"... her famous meter isn't even her own), and she went to these extravagant lengths to make people think that she was an eccentric virgin her entire life (wearing the white dress and locking herself in her room)... she was having a lesbian love affair with her sister-in-law. I find a lot of her ideas to be crude, her supposedly brillian and off-colour mind to be feigned, and her self-love evident in all her work to be dispicable. But, she was on the test. Nothing I could do to stop it.

But I do recommend "The Decay of Lying". It's very funny. A nice little dialogue. Irish humour. I'd quote it, but it's so short, I'd be giving a joke away.

But what really made my day, as always, was Drama. I'm so glad it's my last bell. My teacher promised to take me through the steps of beauty pageants, because I'm currently playing a beauty queen (I have to do the vaseline thing! EEEW! But cool!)! My poor actors had to have a long speech from me today about characterisation, and self-insertion into a character. Poor kids. I must have droned on for ten minutes. Their eyes looked kinda glassy, so I hope they paid attention. If not, they know how to reach me (a-hem), they can ask me any questions they like! It's just I love acting so much, interpretation of work so much... I love literature and theatre and film and art in general. It seems like any time I feel terrible, my solace is found in the talents that God gave me, because I know He destined me to a particular purpose to suit my needs, and I feel that my needs can only be found in pursuing acting and writing and literary understanding... the overall higher philosophy of life and people in hand with all of God's creation. So when I find an amazing novel, or stand on center stage, or (oh say) get that perfect hue of pink for the bottom lip of the man from Chopin that I'm painting for my English teacher to contrast the upturned Roman chin-- I feel like if everyone else abandons me, God loves me, and accept whatever criticisms come my way.

Geeky, I know. Can't you just see my bucked teeth and taped glasses sliding down my nose? "Do the chickens have large talons?" "Last week, Japanese scientists explaced... placed explosive detonators at the bottom of Lake Loch Ness to blow Nessie out of the water. Sir Godfrey of the Nessie Alliance summoned the help of Scotland's local wizards to cast a protective spell over the lake and its local residents and all those who seek for the peaceful existence of our underwater ally."

Alright, that's enough Napoleon Dynamite. Here's a Napoleon Bonaparte quote:

"Une bonne politique est de faire croire aux peuples qu'ils sont libres." Translation: "Good politics is to make people think that they're free." ...Isn't that lovely?

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

one thousand embraces

SILENCE, TRAITOR! - 2006-05-10
Irish History - 2006-05-02
Goodbye Bio! - 2006-05-01
DANCE, WATER! DANCE! - 2006-04-26
Gaaaaaah. - 2006-04-24

Credits
Layout was made by Emerald Ice for use at Frozen Ice.
Image credit goes to Squaresoft.

ME
Profile
Email
Notes
Rings
Quizzes
Art
Archives

HOST & CREDITS
D-Land
Design