:: Youth & Eternity ::
Oh, look at you. Future nurses. Oh, the comfort you'll bring. The people you'll help. The patients you'll smother to end their suffering. I envy you.
[2004-01-13 @ 6:57 p.m.]

Yeppers. Happy Tuesday, everyone!

Not that this Tuesday is a particularly spectacular one. It just feels like a bit of a morale boost to say "Happy [insert choice here]!" So, yeah.

Oh, but before my friend, Kelly, chews my head off, today has some significance for someone, somewhere!

orliworli
9



ALL U HAVE TO DO IS PICK A NUMBER (SORTOF LORD OF THE RINGS RELATED)
brought to you by Quizilla

Happy 27th birthday, Orlando Bloom!

Not that such a date significantly affects me in anyway, it's just fun to have something different to do. It provides a haven from the norm. So, yeah, my friends and I spoke in English accents for awhile, and Kelly and I sported some buttons with Legolas on them. It's not that much of a great big floggin' deal, it's just better than having nothing to do.

Hey! It's almost Elijah Wood's birthday! Too bad no cool accents come along with that one.

Speaking of holidays, Valentine's Day is quickly approaching. I'm always bitter and irritable on said holiday. Yes, I'm single. By choice, mind you. But, still, gift-giving on that holiday makes me sick, and rarely since the days of the paper drug store Valentines have I receved anything (save the odd Hershey's Kiss) from anyone outside my family. My mum usually buys me something nice, because my mum loves me! My brother told me what I'm going to get, but I don't know if I quite believe him.

Well, I might develop that a bit more later. Right now I have other pressing matters. I guess.

Umm... pretending to think, pretending to think... err... Today I shared my story (go back an entry to read it if you haven't) with my AP English class. Which was a kinda stupid idea. No one pays attention to anything in that class unless it comes from a goof-off. I'm not an ouvert goof-off, so everyone sorta tries not to fall asleep when I talk. That's why I never answer any questions in there anymore. That and the teacher sorta stares at people when they answer questions. Like, after you finish talking, he'll keep looking at you for a minute or so, and silence befalls, leaving you feeling very uncomfortable. ...creepy...

But classes like that drive me insane, because they make me doubt my ability. I don't like feeling insecure about something I know I'm good at. For instance, I know I'm a good writer (well, better than some... well, I'm not bad anyway), but the inattentiveness from my peers leads me to believe otherwise. There's no appreciation for the work of others in the immature highschool society. Obviously, there isn't going to be appreciation for anything unless it's easy to comprehend or easily attained. There's not too many people out there who'd try to understand T.S. Eliot (as I also learned today), or grasp the hidden meaning in a movie.

Yep, I got a big juicy pallet full of T.S. Eliot today. Of course, I goofed off a bit, if you can really call compairing T.S. Eliot's looks to that of the offspring of Micheal J. Fox and Macualay Culkin goofing off. Actually, one girl pointed out that he looked like Charlie Sheen if you held his picture upside down... then he'd look like Martin Sheen, too. Well, that's not the point! The point is as thus: everyone in the room was leisurely conversing. And not about the poem! It was really quite a lovely poem, and one of the hardest to grasp that I've ever come across. I think it was called "The Hollow Men". I loved the ending, how it read like a children's song but with a darker, darker tone.

Here we go round the prickly pear/ Prickly pear prickly pear/ Here we go round the prickly pear/ At five o'clock in the morning.

Between the idea/ And the reality/ Between the motion/ And the act/ Falls the Shadow

For Thine is the Kingdom

Between the conception/ And the creation/ Between the emotion/ And the response/Falls the Shadow

Life is very long

Between the desire/ And the spasm/ Between the potency/ And the existence/ Between the essence/And the descent/ Falls the Shadow/For Thine is the Kingdom

For Thine is/ Life is/For Thine is the

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

This is the way the world ends

Not with a bang but a whimper.

See what I mean? That's not the whole poem, far from it. It's the last part of five. But the entire thing alluded to the burning of the "hollow men" (scare-crow like things, stuffed in straw) in England, on Guy Fawkes day, and compared the lost souls bound for hell to the burning of the hollow men. It's really, really good, yet very, very hard to comprehend. And, apparently, equally hard to appreciate, since half the class wasn't even trying to understand it. I had to read it over like, five times.

Yep, I'm a loser. L-O-S-E-R.

Oh! Today's title came from Will & Grace. Karen Walker spoke it, I now bring it to you for your enjoyment. It's easy to grasp, I hope I don't need to explain it. Last night the episode where Will kissed Jack on the Today show came on. I love that episode! It always cracks me up!

See, I've noticed as I've watched loads of britcoms including Mr. Bean, Keeping Up Appearances, and Are You Being Served? (to name just a few), that British humour and American humour differ greatly. Usually American humour makes fun of other people, it pokes fun at minorites and foreigners, regardless of race, creed, or sexual orientation (hence, Will & Grace) even if it be the heterosexual white man, but British humour just pokes fun at, well, the British. It's silly humour without shame, and I love it. Monty Python isn't supposed to make sense, there isn't a dark side to it, it's just funny. A lot of Americans don't get it. What they don't get is that you're not supposed to get it.

Right. And the purpose of that tangent? Oh, right, there wasn't one. But, if I've learned anything from Mr. Bean, it's that one doesn't need a purpose. You know what they (don't ask me who the all-powerful "they" are) took away one of my favourite britcoms? I can't watch My Hero anymore! I don't know what happened, since I don't have any connections with any British people whatsoever, I don't know whether it was cancelled over there, or if they stopped sending it here, or what. It was good, at least I thought it was. It was good in a really odd sort of way. It was about a superhero and a normal woman who had a baby, and the baby can talk and fly and such because it's a cross between a superhero and a normal woman. Yep, that's exactly what my mum said. "What the [insert choice word here] is this?" I thought it was a change of pace, so I loved watching it.

Why is it that I always start loving something a little too late? The same with the show Off Centre. It was disgusting, it was degrading, and I loved it. I loved the episode where Euann kicked the gay pride bi-sexual hamster named "Freedom" off the roof of the skyscraper apartment building, and then it got ran over by a streetsweeper when they saw that it was still alive. Haha, that's just so wonderful. Or when the dog that they were taking care of farted and died, and they tried hiding it in a chest and locking it, but rigamortis had set in, so the girl had to jump on top of it before the unknowing owner returned, and there was this sickening crunch. Or the one where Chow came into the restaurant and walked over to his friends and said, "Man, I gotta poop." Eew!

Well, yep, they cancelled that one (I wonder why?). The omnipotent and controlling "they". I hate you, "they"! Hate you! And, just for future reference, I love animals. I really do. I would never kill a hamster.

Right, yep, I have a life. I swear. It's just that right now it involves little more than a tv remote and a good book. And I want to have another snowday so I can actually get to go see Big Fish. I've been waiting for how long now? HOW LONG?

Curses, Tim Burton. Curses. I will get you for this. I will take your job and be famous and you'll be working at McDonalds, just because you released it in major cities first.

Grrr... I'm fine! Well, I believe that this entry will suffice. Yes, yes, it looks fine.

Toodles!

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

one thousand embraces

SILENCE, TRAITOR! - 2006-05-10
Irish History - 2006-05-02
Goodbye Bio! - 2006-05-01
DANCE, WATER! DANCE! - 2006-04-26
Gaaaaaah. - 2006-04-24

Credits
Layout was made by Emerald Ice for use at Frozen Ice.
Image credit goes to Squaresoft.

ME
Profile
Email
Notes
Rings
Quizzes
Art
Archives

HOST & CREDITS
D-Land
Design