:: Youth & Eternity ::
Welcome to the Redundant Department of Redundancy Department!
[2005-04-18 @ 5:54 p.m.]

No homework tonight 'cept a little French reading and writing. Shouldn't take me too long. I already started it in class. It's officially French bootcamp week. Speaking, listening, writing, reading, snoring (oops, did I write that?)... the works. It's grand. And in English class, we're reviewing "Othello". Grand again. Our sub is looking for the Branaugh version, but can't find it. Grand grand grand ('cept, that time I meant it, and not just as verbal irony)! It'd be nice to take a break from our break from work.

Last night I stayed up and watched Colonial House on PBS. It's a good show. I don't think I'd be able to put up with the Preacher for long, though, he's a little... intense. A humble hypocrite in his own right (yes, I realise that's a paradox). The Governor needs to come back from Texas and crack down on the workers. I feel terrible that the Governor's daughter's fianc� died in the real world. What a slap in the face that would be, to be immersed in somewhere else, someplace else, and then suddenly have to accept modern day. I'd feel kind of... guilty.

This is exactly why I get angry at the idea that modern day is far more complicated than the 1900s, 1800s, 1700s, 1600s, etc., just because we have computers, technology. We're constantly "on the go", and blah blah blah. These people were so tired at the end of the day, that they didn't change out of their clothes to go to bed. And they'd wake up at the break of dawn to go out and meet back-breaking planting in the fields. It would take a woman an entire day to cook three meals for her household, milking goats, tending the chickens, cooking the grains. In the winter any person could die from sickness at any time. In the real colonies, entire communities were wiped out in a matter of days. And in the summer, even the salted meats could spoil, or feces in the goat milk could kill colonists, and the reduced numbers faced even harder labour with the harvests, or hunting, or trading (since travel, without horses and carts, was merely on foot).

And this seems rustic to you and me, but their ideals and their emotions were far from it. If anything their work was harder, and more vested into it, and more joy reaped from it. Why people can't appreciate the work the forefathers endured for us today is beyond me. Because heaven knows that web design or acting is so much tougher than planting corn at five in the morning in the freezing, bitter cold!

Whew... that was long-winded. "I used to walk fifty miles in the snow, without shoes, uphill to get to school!" ... I don't know where I got the title. But it's there.


A couple of final thoughts: do we have to put up with a put-down? And do we show up and a show-down?

"Here's to the health of your blood,
Here's to the blood of your health;
If your blood isn't healthy,
Then your health isn't bloody;
So here's to your bloody good health!"

I hope I got that right...

PS. I'm PMSing. Grand!
PPS. Kelly stabbed me with a needle today.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

one thousand embraces

SILENCE, TRAITOR! - 2006-05-10
Irish History - 2006-05-02
Goodbye Bio! - 2006-05-01
DANCE, WATER! DANCE! - 2006-04-26
Gaaaaaah. - 2006-04-24

Credits
Layout was made by Emerald Ice for use at Frozen Ice.
Image credit goes to Squaresoft.

ME
Profile
Email
Notes
Rings
Quizzes
Art
Archives

HOST & CREDITS
D-Land
Design