:: Youth & Eternity ::
And, honey, did you really think you could get into heaven wearing body glitter? Well, you can't. Nope.
[2004-01-11 @ 8:42 p.m.]

As you can tell by my previous entry (that has been withdrawn from the archives page) I am going to be adding a seperate page for quizzes. Yes, indeed! My mummy said that she's upgrading me to gold on Valentine's Day. I love you, Mum!

Yeppers, I've finished my outline on 20th century Brit. Lit. There was a buncha stuff about Monty Python and Absolutely Fabulous. Veeerrrryyy nice stuff. Oh, poopie, my colours are done drying... I hate doing laundry. I'll let them dry for a bit longer, though, even if it was a small load.

Well, luckily enough for you, you lovely reader, you, I've got a lot to talk about still! Even if this is my 3rd time on here today.

My mum doesn't believe that I look like Cate Blanchett. Lately, you see, I get told that quite a bit. "Hey, you look like that elf-queen!" Yeah, thanks. Well, it is very nice to hear such a thing, since Cate Blanchett's, like, my idol. But, still, my mum doesn't think so. "Even if you bleach your hair and eyebrows, no!" My gammie and dad and brother and friends all agree, I look like Galadriel. My mum tried to get on my last nerve (sorta... well, not that extreme) by pasting my face on that of Hugo Weaving's, saying "You've got his eyebrows!" No! Excuse me! Not that I dislike Hugo Weaving, quite the contrary I assure you, and not that I think he's ugly, quite the contrary I assure you, but I don't have his eyebrows. And it's not my fault my arches are high, I have thyroid issues that are causing them to fall out. So, no, I don't over-pluck.

I'm very self-conscious about the way I look. I know it's a fault on my part, but right now I'm feeling particularly vulnerable about myself because of this whole I'll-never-live-my-dream thing I'm going through because of college. CURSES! Well, you know how it goes, I'm sure. I'd appreciate it if I keep getting lovely commentary like, "Hey, you look like Cate Blanchett" instead of, "Wow, whaddup Hugo brows?" Please, do me the kindness.

So, in other entertainment news, my favourite movie ever has, indeed, just won oodles of awards from Critics Choice. I watched the ending on E! Well, anyway, I saw Peter Jackson accept the award for Best Director (HOORAY!), and Billy Boyd/Peter Jackson accept the award for best film (HOORAY!) and blah blah blah. They also won best, err, Acting in an Ensemble (ahh, all of my favourite peoples), and Howard Shore (bow down at the sight of such a name!) won best Original Score. So, go Return of the King, best movie in existence! I laughed, I cried (for 2 and a half of the 3 and a half hours), and I laughed and cried at the same time (which was actually kinda painful), and I was shocked and awed and moved and stirred and inspired to do the same. No! Not destroy a ring, but create such fantastic art forms in the medium of film. Well, I've wanted to since the age of 6, this just enforced those silly, nonsense dreams.

Well, yep.

Yep, in other other news... wait, I don't think I've got other other news. Umm, I saw a bit of Sense and Sensability today, only because I wanted to see Alan Rickman (ahhh!!! I love Alan Rickman). The movie (and book) is really just about a bunch of pms-y women hating each other and talking about dudes. But Emma Thompson is always the coolness, and Alan Rickman just rules. My mum hates the story line almost as much as Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy, and I don't care for either of them, as a matter of fact.

...home is behind, the world ahead. There are many paths to tread through shadow to the edge of night, until the stars are all alight. Mist and shadow, cloud and shade... all shall fade, all shall...fade... Hmm, I love that movie, as afore stated. I also love that song, and that soundtrack, and, well, everything. As if you couldn't tell.

And you thought the raving would end. I fooled you.

I need to start reading up on the history and technical stuff of film, along with any techniques on acting I haven't yet learned. Classes aren't teaching me enough, and I want to be ahead in college. I wonder if any of the professors of film at Columbia have written any books on the matter... Hey, I need all the suck-up points I can get.

You see, I've noticed that the greatest acheivers of our time have only accomplished their goals through saying and doing the right thing at the right time. Ben Franklin, for instance, may have been a self-centered ego-maniac, but no one would have ever known it. He stated specifically in his autobiography (the one I was forced to read this summer) that he learned at an early age the best way of arguement. You have to let your opposition believe that they are right, but persuade them gently and calmly to point them a little more in your direction. It's a gradual process, but as long as you suck up to them and tell them that they're brilliant, stay away from the words like "however" or terms like "in my opinion", you're good. Say something like, "What a very well-founded arguement. Very, very well put, sir. In my understanding there's the matter of..." etc, etc, etc. It's flattering (to say the least), and you get to have your say.

See, you have to know when to kiss butt, you have to be attentive and respective (no matter what your invert thought may be), you must remain humble whilst keeping confident in your abilities, and you have to know the right praise to give. That's how you get someplace. And, hey, whatever it takes, right? Then when you've got a name for yourself, you have free reign to be yourself and show your true self.

Sneaky, tricksy, false... at least it's not murder! Haha! That's a Gollum joke. Never mind. I saw two recent interviews with Andy Serkis, I think they were even in the same day! Err, CNN, and then Charlie Rose, respectively. Also on Charlie Rose were Elijah Wood and Sean Astin. Quite informative, stark, formal, inpersonal, and interesting. Well, Charlie Rose was anyway. I never knew that Gollum hated Sean Astin so much, nor that he had the guts to curse on CNN. Gollum is my hero!

Well, sorta. Well, he was supa-cool anyway.

Geez, I'm tired. And I've talked and I've shared and I've laid bare my soul before you. So shut up and leave.

Is that menace I'm smelling?

Toodles! ...Oh, and today's title is via Karen Walker of Will & Grace.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

one thousand embraces

SILENCE, TRAITOR! - 2006-05-10
Irish History - 2006-05-02
Goodbye Bio! - 2006-05-01
DANCE, WATER! DANCE! - 2006-04-26
Gaaaaaah. - 2006-04-24

Credits
Layout was made by Emerald Ice for use at Frozen Ice.
Image credit goes to Squaresoft.

ME
Profile
Email
Notes
Rings
Quizzes
Art
Archives

HOST & CREDITS
D-Land
Design